Government’s Crowning Glory

We are enthusiastic supporters of the Governments efforts to standardise & (hopefully simplify) their websites which is being undertaken by the Government Digital Service (GDS)  which is part of the Cabinet Office.

They ran a beta, Inside Government, section of the GOV.UK site for 6 weeks ending around mid April which we mentioned before.

They have blogged about the lessons learnt (a bit technical but worth a read)

This beta section effectively had eight Departments & two Agencies directly contributing to the project which were:

  • Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) – / Official
  • Department for Business Innovation and Skills (BIS) – / Official
  • Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) – / Official
  • Department for International Development (DFID) - / Official
  • HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) – / Official
  • Ministry of Justice (MOJ) -  / Official
  • Ministry of Defence (MOD) – / Official
  • Department of Health (DH) -  / Official
  • Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) -/ Official
  • Cabinet Office -  / Official

If you visit each of their official sites (as we called them at the time) you will encounter virtually 10 differing logos! You may choose to save some time & just trust us!

Well the good news is that they’re all going to be abolished & will revert to a “crown” (the BBC reports).

The Department for Education (and we note the Cabinet Office) have already jumped the gun and adopted the crown.

Hopefully in due course sometime in this parliament stationery etc etc will be converted to the same simplified format.

In terms of which crown should be used we have a preference for the simplistic grey version adopted by ——- The Government Digital Service!

Speak Your Mind