Apple’s Education Announcement 19 January 2012 – Reinventing the textbook

Update 6.30pm GMT Apple Press release

iBooks 2 & iBooks Author video – iMPRESSIVE

!

 

10.50pm EST (3.50 GMT) Eddi Cue on iTunes U – 1,000 universities use it and over 700 million downloads to date. Available  now full courses with video, documents, apps, books, share syllabus and assignments  all integrated with iBooks. Six universities use it already & several hundred courses developed. iTunes U is free  & available now in 123 countries.

And that’s it folks – no additional iPad educational discounts yet – maybe that will come alongside iPad3 later this quarter?

 

10.20pm EST (3.20 GMT) iBooks to have textbook section iBooks2 available now! Books created by iBooks Author (Our guess is list of signed up publishers/authors later) Can drag existing content word files movies etc into the publishing facility – it seems to be very fast!

“A miracle compared to ebook!”

It’s free.

New high school textbooks available from $14.99 or less.

Partners Pearson, McGraw Hill Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (existing books)  DK Publishing. (Books in progress)

We  guess iPad additional educational discount may appear – and one more thing ……)

 

10am EST (3pm GMT) Media event scheduled start time at the Guggenheim.

Phil  Schiller Apple’s Senior VP Worldwide Marketing starts promptly on time! Going to reinvent the textbook. 1.5 million iPads used already in educational institutions. Roger Rosner takes over. “Clearly, no printed textbook can compete” Portrait & landscape differential displays for text & interactive elements with glossary to side. Highlighting & note taking abilities.

Speak Your Mind

*